According to the Texas Wesleyan website, the mission of the Student Government Association  is “to interact with the administration, faculty, staff and students on behalf of the Student Body for the benefit of the students and student life on campus. In order for the students to be represented effectively, elections are to be held every year.”

It is now election season. Students wishing to run for any executive positions – President, Vice President, Chief Justice, Treasure, or Secretary – the student must have held a position in SGA for a full academic year.

For representative positions, however, any student can run as long as they meet all the requirements that have been set in the constitution and bylaws of the association. Also to run, students must get a petition signed by their fellow students saying that they have support to get on the ballot.

The meeting for those interested in running for executive positions was held Thursday, March 20, and the meeting for those interested in being a representative will be held Thursday, March 27.

Current Chief Justice Bill Rucker explained some of the other election rules.

“All campaigning must be done fairly and clean,” he said.

Campaigning for executive positions will begin March 27. Students running must not tamper with opponents campaigning material and cannot spend more than $500 on all of their campaign materials.

To get students involved in the campaign, there will be two debates – April 1 during free period at 12:15-1 p.m. at a place will be determined and April 8 at 7 p.m. in Stella Hall. The purpose of these debates is for the student body cannot only get know the candidates, and so students also can ask questions and learn about each candidate’s platforms. During the April 8 debate, SGA representatives will be present so they can asked questions as well.

Elections will be held April 15-16. There will be polling places set up in the library and in the Brown-Lupton Campus Center, and voting will take place online. An email will be sent to all students reminding them that it is time to vote. The new president for the 2014-15 academic year will be sworn in on April 22.