The Student News Site of Texas Wesleyan University

The Rambler

The Rambler

The Rambler

Rambler Media Group wins national awards


The Rambler Media Group won two awards from the Associated Collegiate Press on Sunday.

The Rambler  came in eighth among Four-year Less Than Weekly newspapers and the RMG website,, came in second in the Website Small School category at the 2015 National College Media Convention Best of Show competition.

The competition was part of the 2015 ACP/CMA National College Media Convention in Austin, which was held Oct. 28 – Nov. 1.

This is the first year RMG has placed at this competition.

“The team’s efforts to improve the quality of the Rambler Media Group has paid off in tremendous ways,” Editor-in-Chief Valerie Spears said. “I am very proud of this team and cannot wait to enter additional contests.”

RMG rebranding this semester included a redesign of the website, newspaper and logos. The rebrand also included focusing on team building efforts to improve the organization and student-friendly content.

“The rebranding done this semester by the editors and directors pushed Rambler Media Group to be competitive at the national level. These two awards emphasized that—finishing as a top 10 newspaper in the nation and the second best website among small programs in the nation,” said Dr. Kay Colley, student media director and associate professor of mass communications. “I am so very proud of our staff.”

“The Rambler staff has consistently done amazing work this semester, and I am very proud of all of them,” said Dr. David A. Ferman, RMG’s adviser.

The convention “is the largest gathering of college journalists and advisers in the world,” according to

Around 400 colleges attended and competed in the conference.


The newspaper that won was The Rambler Volume 99 Issue 11.


Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Rambler Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
Rambler Media Group wins national awards