The Student News Site of Texas Wesleyan University

The Rambler

The Rambler

The Rambler

SGA elections feature two debates this week

SGA President campaign posters featured on the first floor bulletin board of the Polytechnic United Methodist Church.

The Student Government Association has spent the year voting on how to better life at Texas Wesleyan, and now the power of voting shifts to the student body with this week’s SGA elections.

Last year Abbey Borghee ran unopposed for SGA President, this year there are three candidates hoping to fill the position: Lyndsey Bessinger, Michael Brown, and Zahraa Saheb.

Bessinger, junior business management major, intends to better the student experience if elected.

“I have worked continuously since my freshman year to better the student experience, and I plan to do just that as SGA president,” Bessinger said. “My platform regarding safety, wellness and sustainability has no parallel.”

Bessinger is familiar with both the workings of the SGA and being a leader. She has been a captain on the cheerleading team the last two years, student chair of both the Honors Committee and Code of Conduct Committee, as well as a member of Veteran’s Club and several honor societies.

“I served as SGA treasurer this last term, and I was one of the three representatives at large the term before that,” Bessinger said. “In both positions, I encouraged fiscal responsibility and have written bills that fund various events and help different departments.”

Brown, junior criminal justice major and diving minor, is also no stranger to the SGA.

“During my first year at Wesleyan, I was the representative for the School of Natural and Social Sciences,” Brown said. “I am currently the sitting chief justice.”

But Brown said his eight years in the military is what gives him the most leadership experience when it comes to interacting with a widely diverse student body.

“I’m passionate about changing the idea that if you want to have fun at Wesleyan, you have to leave campus,” Brown said. “Residents and commuters alike need a place to go that allows them to decompress and enjoy some down time, and if you’re paying tuition, you should be able to get that within walking distance.”

Zahraa Saheb, a junior double majoring in political science with a global emphasis and English with a writing concentration, plans to bring her passion for Wesleyan to the presidency.

“To me, Wesleyan’s more than a school, it’s a home,” Saheb said. “I do not make friends, I make brothers and sisters. I run on the platform of a stronger voice and stronger representation of the student body of this university.”

Saheb served as the freshman representative her first year at Wesleyan, and currently serves as vice president.

“I have made many positive changes and taken on great initiatives,” Saheb said, “like tripling the Study Abroad Scholarship fund, restructuring the Participation Program to award more students and organizations, and promoting a green campus with the purchase of 50 new recycling bins.”

Saheb encourages everyone to get involved in the upcoming elections and vote.

“The student body president position is a very important one with a huge impact through which one can truly make a difference,” Saheb said. “Please talk to every candidate running, ask them questions, and make your own choice to better our beautiful Wesleyan!”

Other students running for office include:

Vice President: Kelsea Coker, Zurra Hemani.

Treasurer: Mohanad Hasona.

Secretary: Lizeth Menchaca.

 Head Representative: Sachiko Jayaratne.

Senior Representative: Kevin Blake.

Representative for the School of Education: Nicole Gillihan.

Representative for the School of Natural & Social Sciences: Cameron Bennett, Alejandra Gonzalez, Absana Pathak.

International Representative: Hamsa Hasona, Amarsingh Purohit, Nasrullah Sailab.

Representatives at Large (3 positions available): Jacob Chesney, Heather Phillips, Mouj Saheb, Elsa Tovar.

Elections will be held April 14 and 15 by electronic ballot, according to an email sent to students by Dean of Students Dennis Hall. The first debate will be on April 11 at 6:30 p.m. in Stella Hall, and the second debate will be on April 12 during free period in McFadden Lecture Hall.

Leave a Comment
More to Discover

Comments (0)

All The Rambler Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Activate Search
SGA elections feature two debates this week